Events

To share upcoming events of interest for urban law scholars, click here.

September 27, 2021

Rent control: Constitutionality, private property, and the distortion of housing markets

 

10:00 AM to 11:00 AM ET

Web Event

Sponsored by American Enterprise Institute (AEI)

Rent control has long been debated, yet rent stabilization laws have proliferated in cities in recent years. Advocates argue that rent control helps resist gentrification and displacement. Critics point out that it limits the housing supply while distorting the housing market for rental property owners and renters alike.

An upcoming case in the US Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit will challenge the legality of New York City’s rent control laws, raising a broader question: Are such laws constitutional? Does maintaining low rents outweigh what some amount to “taking” private property and violating the Fifth Amendment?

Andrew Pincus of Mayor Brown LLP, a plaintiff in the case, joins AEI’s Adam J. White and Nestor Davidson of the Fordham University School of Law for a panel discussion, moderated by AEI’s Howard Husock, on the constitutionality of rent control.

Submit questions to Kawit.Promrat@aei.org or on Twitter with #AEIRentControl.

October 28, 2021

2021 Urban Law Day Virtual Panel:

Rebuilding a More Just, Climate Resilient and Equitable Urban Future for All: The Role of Law

2:00 PM - 4:00 PM SAST

Organized by UN-HABITAT |North-West University, CLES |

University of the Witwatersrand, School of Law

The COVID pandemic continues to leave its mark on the ability of multilevel governments to cope and on the capacity of local communities to prosper. The pandemic has deteriorated city governance, in particular in relation to service delivery, and has negatively affected local democratic processes and accountability. It has deepened pre-existing resource deficits, strained social cohesion and fueled manifestations of civil discontent. From an urban law and governance perspective, the pandemic has seemingly triggered the need for: 

  • A new social contract, one that must be re-invigorated by the rule of law and respect for human rights; 

  • Innovation in designing and implementing principles, accountability measures, intergovernmental support and intervention initiatives, and sustainable remedies to sustainably address failing or struggling local governance; 

  • Understanding community-wide tragedy and disaster as well as socio-ecological resilience through a human rights lens; and

  • Assessing the content and impact of urban initiatives aimed at tackling climate change and protecting natural resources, given that cities are the epicenters of health and environmental crises.

Against this backdrop, UN-HABITAT, CLES (NWU) and the Wits School of Law will be hosting a joint Urban Law Day on 28 October 2021. The event will take the form of an interactive panel discussion involving urban law and governance experts from an array of geographical and scholarly backgrounds. 

October 29, 2021

Urban Law Day Virtual Discussion: Climate Change & Urban Legislation

5:00 AM Vancouver Time / 8:00 AM New York Time / 1:00 PM London Time

3:00 PM Nairobi Time / 5:30 PM Mumbai Time / 8:00 PM Hong Kong Time

Organized by UN-HABITAT | Urban Law Center

As part of UN-Habitat's Urban October, join the Urban Law Center and UN-HABITAT on October 29th for an Urban Law Day Virtual Discussion: Climate Change & Urban Legislation

Urban October celebrates 31 Days of Promoting a Better Urban Future, and this year focuses on Adapting Cities for Climate Resilience. Creating sustainable, climate-resilient cities opens the door to innovation, as well as social, economic, and environmental benefits for a better quality of life in a time of increasing climate crisis. 

In this virtual discussion, join urban legal scholars and specialists as they explore adaptations in urban legislation and climate change, highlighting Colombia as a case study. 

Panelists

Anne Amin: Legal Specialist, UN Habitat

Nestor Davidson: Albert A. Walsh Chair in Real Estate, Land Use, and Property Law; Faculty Director, Urban Law Center; Fordham University School of Law

Sheila Foster: Scott K. Ginsburg Professor of Urban Law and Policy; Professor of Public Policy; Associate Dean of Diversity & Inclusion; Georgetown Law School and the McCourt Public Policy School - Georgetown University

Ana Paula Pimentel Walker: Assistant Professor of Urban and Regional Planning; Taubman College of Architecture & Urban Planning - University of Michigan

AULS_Ghanian Traffic.jpg